Live racing is happening across Ontario. Click here to find a track near you.

The Raceway Honours Best Of 2022

News and Results > Top Racing Headlines > 2023 > The Raceway Honours Best Of 2022

The Raceway Honours Best Of 2022

February 27, 2023
By The Raceway the Western Fair District
The Raceway Honours Best Of 2022
London, February 25, 2023 – Natalie Elliott and Jack Wray, both owner-trainers, were the big winners on Saturday evening as The Raceway at Western Fair District honoured its top performers from the 2022 season in front of a capacity crowd at the Top Of The Fair dining room.

Elliott’s Heavy Dude E was awarded the M & T Printing Group Overall Horse Of The Year along with top Older Trotting Horse on the strength of a 10-for-37 season in which he banked just shy of $70,000 while racing primarily at The Raceway.

Veteran Jack Wray took home the most hardware with Greystone Treasurer winning both Older Pacing Mare and Claimer of the Year and his Okeeheelee capturing Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly.

Trainer Lorne House also doubled up as Greystone Ian O was honoured as top Three -Year-Old Pacing Colt while Pembrook Legacy N got the nod as top Preferred Pacer.

Tyler Borth and Travis Henry finished in a tie for top driver in 2022, both with 144 wins, while O’Brien Award finalist for Rising Star, Cassidy Schneider, received the award as Trainer of the Year.

It was the first in-person awards night held at The Raceway since 2020. Below is the complete list of award winners:
  • Three Year Old Pacing Colt – Greystone Ian O
  • Three Year Old Pacing Filly – J One Twenty
  • Three Year Old Trotting Colt – Jayport Roadrunner
  • Three Year Old Trotting Filly – Okeeheelee
  • Aged Pacing Horse – Y S Delight
  • Aged Pacing Mare – Greystone Treasure
  • Aged Trotting Horse Heavy Dude E
  • Aged Trotting Mare – Power and Grace
  • Claimer Of The Year – Greystone Treasure
  • Rookie Of The Year – Punchesinbunches
  • Preferred Pacer – Pembrook Legacy N
  • Preferred Trotter – Scene A Magician
  • Driver Of The Year – Travis Henry/Tyler Borth (Tied)
  • Trainer Of The Year – Cassidy Schneider
  • Caretaker Of The Year – Sofia Antolini
  • Ruth Herbert Horsewoman Of The Year – Natasha Day
  • Overall Horse Of The Year – Heavy Dude E

More Top Racing Headlines