Skip to main content
Plan Your Track Visit

Plan Your Track Visit

前往馬場前

安排前往馬場時,請留意以下一些事項﹗

是否需要入場費﹖有沒有泊車費﹖
安省所有馬場都是免費入場並提供免費泊車。部分特色賽事可能需要入場費。請向馬場查詢。
兒童可否出席賽事﹖

可以﹗安省所有馬場都歡迎一家大小蒞臨。不少馬場安排兒童活動和特別親子活動。請留意,19歲或以上人士方可進入安省博彩局(OLG)的角子機專區,18歲以上人士方可投注。
寵物可否進入馬場﹖
馬場禁止犬隻和寵物入場,惟認可服務類動物則例外。
 
我會看到哪一些類型的賽馬?

安省有3種馬匹賽事:純種馬、標準種馬和夸特馬賽事。
 
Ajax Downs是唯一舉行夸特馬賽事的場地。
 
純種馬賽事在Fort Erie 馬場和活拜馬場(Woodbine Racetrack)舉行。
 
省內其他馬場一律舉行標準種馬(輕駕車)賽事,當中活拜馬場更是兼備標準種馬和純種馬賽事。

賽事何時開始﹖

賽事開始時間因賽場而異。請瀏覽本網址的「賽期表」一欄,了解每個馬場的賽期和賽事開始時間。

馬場舉行多少賽事﹖

大部分馬場每賽日平均舉行10場賽事並顯示在賽事表上。

我可以在哪裡購買賽事編排表﹖
您可以在任何馬場和任何場外服務點購買賽事編排表。安省不少馬場在其網址免費提供賽事編排表以供下載。
賽事編排表收費多少﹖

賽事編排表一般收費$2.50至$3.00。金額或因賽事性質和賽事編排類別而有所不同。
 
場內提供哪些種類的飲食﹖

安省所有馬場都設有小吃店或飲食專區。大部分馬場設有讓您俯瞰賽道的休閑餐廳或全套服務餐廳。由於並非所有餐廳都是每逢賽日開放,所以請向馬場查詢。光顧餐廳前最好預先訂枱。
馬場是否領有牌照售賣酒精類飲品﹖
有,安省所有馬場都領有酒牌。年滿19歲人士方可購買酒精類飲品。
可否探訪並觸摸賽用馬匹﹖

安省所有馬場在賽道外設有專區讓您近距離觀賞馬匹的一舉一動。基於保安和安全理由,賽道全程設有圍欄禁止觸摸馬匹。馬匹準備賽事的馬房屬於限制區域。不少馬場提供馬房參觀活動。請聯絡您想前往的馬場,了解有關馬房參觀活動的詳情。

 
可以在馬場內拍照嗎?
可以,馬場的一般公眾區域歡迎賓客拍照和使用攝錄機。請避免在接近馬匹時使用閃光燈。馬場禁止拍攝場內顧客。

抵達馬場

抵達馬場前的賽馬需知

一般騎師(jockey)與輕駕車騎師(driver)之間有何分別﹖

一般騎師坐在馬鞍駕馭純種馬,但輕駕車騎師坐在標準種馬後面的兩輪車作駕馭。輕駕車騎師有別於一般騎師之處,在於他們沒有體重限制。但是,大部分成就高的輕駕車騎師都會控制體重和保持良好體態。無論坐在馬鞍還是兩輪車駕馭馬匹都需要相當體力。一般騎師個子較為矮小,必須把體重控制在若干水平。賽馬專員對馬匹負磅設立限制,騎師及其裝備不得超過限制。例如,肯塔基打吡賽(Kentucky Derby)設定馬匹負磅上限為126磅(雌馬則為121磅),騎師及其裝備(馬鞍、馬鞭、頭盔、靴等)不得超過此限。

輕駕車騎師可選擇自己作賽時所穿著的綵衣顏色。輕駕車騎師必須向有關當局登記自己選擇的綵衣顏色,以便所選擇的綵衣圖案列印在賽事編排表上。綵衣通常印有輕駕車騎師的名稱及/或姓名簡寫。

一般騎師則不可選擇自己的顏色。從他們的綵衣(silks)樣式可識別出馬主或策騎馬匹所屬的馬房。馬主向有關註冊處登記時會表明綵衣採用的顏色和圖案。

馬匹是否在所有賽事中以逆時針方向競跑﹖

北美洲大部分的賽馬都是以逆時針方向競跑(轉左)。但是世界其他地方則不盡相同,有的以順時針方向競跑,有的以逆時針方向競跑。有些馬場跑道更是一條直路不用轉彎,也有一些賽道座落在山丘上。
  
根據位於紐約的「國家賽馬博物館暨名人紀念堂」(National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame)提供的資料,美國早期的賽馬就像英格蘭一樣是以順時針方向競跑,美國革命後就轉為逆時針方向競跑。位於安省多倫多的活拜馬場曾在2016年舉行多場順時針方向賽馬,目的是吸引更多人留意此項體育活動。然而,安省賽馬慣例仍是逆時針方向。

安省提供多少類型的賽馬活動可供觀看﹖
夸特馬賽事在安省Ajax的Ajax Downs馬場舉行。
純種馬賽事則在多倫多的活拜馬場和Fort Erie的Fort Erie馬場舉行。
標準種馬賽事(又稱輕駕車賽馬)可在下列省內多個馬場欣賞:
  • Clinton, Ontario - Clinton Raceway
  • Dresden, Ontario - Dresden Raceway
  • Dundas, Ontario – Flamboro Downs
  • Elora, Ontario - Grand River Raceway
  • Hanover, Ontario - Hanover Raceway
  • Innisfil, Ontario – Georgian Downs
  • Leamington, Ontario - Leamington Raceway
  • London, Ontario – The Raceway At Western Fair District
  • Milton, Ontario – Mohawk Racetrack
  • Ottawa, Ontario - Rideau Carleton Raceway
  • Peterborough, Ontario – Kawartha Downs
  • Sarnia, Ontario - Hiawatha Horse Park
  • Toronto, Ontario – Woodbine Racetrack
馬場賽道長短是否一律相同﹖

不是。舉例說,多倫多活拜馬場就有三個不同長短的賽道。標準種馬在八分七英里長的跑道作賽,而純種馬則在一英里長的膠沙地(合成表面)跑道或一英里半長的草地跑道作賽。Fort Erie馬場設有一條一英里長的主賽道,以及一條七化郎長的沙地轉為草地的賽道。Ajax Downs馬場的賽道則是四分一英里長。
 
半英里長賽道可在省內多個馬場見到,包括Clinton Raceway、Dresden Raceway、Flamboro Downs、Grand River Raceway、Hanover Raceway、Leamington Raceway,以及Western Fair District的 The Raceway 。
 
Georgian Downs、Kawartha Downs、Rideau Carleton和Hiawatha Horse Park的賽道都是八分五英里長。
 
Mohawk Racetrack是省內除活拜馬場外唯一設有八分七英里長橢圓型賽道的馬場。

馬匹在哪種賽道跑得最快﹖
馬匹在直線的賽道跑得最快。夸特馬之所以能夠迅速完成賽事的原因之一,是因為大部分的賽道並無彎位。馬匹需要應付的彎位愈多,牠們的跑速愈慢。馬匹在半英里長賽道上需要轉四個彎,所以牠們在這種賽道跑得最慢。然而半英里長賽道有一個優點,就是其格局讓馬迷將整場賽事看得更清楚。
我怎樣知道哪些馬匹在作賽﹖

所有馬場都有提供賽事編排表,詳列所有賽事中的馬匹及其過往表現。不少馬場在其網址免費提供PDF版的賽事編排表,讓觀眾在家列印後帶往馬場。觀眾也可以在馬場內以低廉價錢購買賽事編排表。

三種賽事之間有何分別﹖

夸特馬賽事純種馬賽事中,馬匹是由一般騎師(有時稱作「策騎員」)策騎。在輕駕車賽馬中,馬匹則由輕駕車騎師駕馭,他們坐在馬匹後的特別兩輪車(sulky)駕馭馬匹。

夸特馬賽事以短途衝刺見稱,而這品種之所以稱作夸特馬(Quarter),就是因為牠們能極速完成四分一英里的賽程。夸特馬是所有馬匹中最擅長短距離衝刺的品種,堪比極速賽車。純種馬賽事的賽程以「化郎」(八分一英里)作為長度單位。最常見的賽程由六至九化郎不等。

標準種馬賽事主要在一英里長的賽道舉行。部分馬場兼備短途(四分一英里或半英里)和長途(一英里半)賽事,讓馬迷以不同角度觀賞賽馬。標準種馬作賽時有兩種奔跑步伐:「溜蹄」(即位於身體一邊的兩肢同時移動,是更具優勢的步伐)和「快步」(即右前肢與左後肢同時移動,或左前肢與右後肢同時移動)。

近年安省推出另一類標準種馬賽事,就是簡稱RUS的「鞍下賽馬」(Racing Under Saddle)。在這種賽事中,騎師是坐在馬鞍上駕馭以快步奔跑的馬匹,而不是坐在輕駕車駕馭馬匹。安省賽馬委員會(Ontario Racing Commission)於2014年4月同意立例容許RUS賽事作為平分彩金法投注項目而不只是示範賽。有關安省RUS賽事的整個歷程可在這裡找到。

在輕駕車賽馬中,馬匹以哪種方式跑得較快﹖溜蹄還是快步﹖

溜蹄方式奔跑的馬匹,從來都比以快步方式奔跑的馬匹快幾秒,最大原因是馬匹在溜蹄時步伐較踏實。北美洲史上以快步跑得最快的馬匹是在歐洲培育的Sebastian K,牠在2014年6月於Pocono Downs馬場的八分之五英里長賽道以1分49秒跑畢全程。
 
 
史上以溜蹄方式在一英里長賽道上跑得最快的紀錄由馬匹Always B Miki保持。牠在2016年10月於The Red Mile馬場以1分46秒溜蹄跑畢全程。

各品種馬匹之間有何不同﹖
夸特馬與純種馬關係密切,但前者一般較為結實、四肢粗壯、肌肉發達,而後者則較精緻。夸特馬往往被用於牧馬騎術表演和美國西部節慶活動。標準種馬則介乎兩者之間。牠們不像純種馬般精緻,同時也不像夸特馬般結實。
  
以毛色而言,標準種馬和純種馬主要是棗色(淺棕色)、棕色、黑色、栗色(不同程度的紅色)和灰色(又稱沙色)。

夸特馬的毛色已知有17種,包括部分上述顏色及其他顏色。各種毛色詳列於這個由美國夸特馬協會(American Quarter Horse Association)提供的圖表 [PDF](英)
為何賽事中馬號顏色各有不同﹖
無論是馬鞍顏色,還是馬背上披著的號布顏色,目的都是讓馬迷在賽事中辨出他們支持的馬匹。
 
The traditional colours are:
 
THOROUGHBRED/QUARTER HORSE
Post # Colour
  1. Red
  2. White
  3. Blue
  4. Yellow
  5. Green
  6. Black
  7. Orange
  8. Pink
  9. Turquoise
  10. Purple
  11. Gray
  12. Lime
  13. Brown
  14. Maroon
  15. Khaki
  16. Copen Blue
  17. Navy
  18. Forest Green
  19. Moonstone
  20. Fuchsia
 
STANDARDBRED
Post #     Colour
  1. Red
  2. Blue
  3. White
  4. Green
  5. Black
  6. Yellow
  7. Pink
  8. Grey
  9. Purple
  10. Blue/Red
  11. Light Blue
  12. Red/White
馬匹在完成賽馬生涯後會做什麼﹖
不少賽用馬匹在退役後過著非常忙碌的生活。很多退役馬匹繼而繁殖有可能成為接班馬的下一代。有些雌馬成為傳種馬,在冬季時誕下稱作「駒」的小馬。馬匹的懷孕期約11個月。賽事表現或血統最優秀的雄馬非常吃香,牠們會成為種馬繁殖下一代。
  
若干退役馬匹,主要是標準種馬,會被阿米什人(Amish)及/或門諾派教徒(Mennonites)使用,他們會在某些情況下將馬匹用作唯一的交通工具。很多其他退役馬匹則在不同馬術範疇被使用:障礙超越賽、三項賽、盛裝舞步賽、繞桶賽和輕駕車慢步賽。退役馬匹也會供人策騎作治癒用途,受助對象是不同年齡的傷健人士。
退役馬匹是否跟其他動物一樣可供人領養﹖
坊間不少組織致力為三大品種的退役馬匹尋找永久居所。部分組織訓練即將獲領養的馬匹,使牠們準備好在新居被領養者策騎。如欲了解我們的「退役馬匹獎勵計劃」(Post Racing Incentive Program)詳情,請參閱「業內連結」(Industry Links)

Skip to main content
Plan Your Track Visit

Plan Your Track Visit

Before the Track

Here are a few things to consider when planning your visit to the track!

Is there an admission cost? What about parking?

Admission and parking is free at all Ontario racetracks. 
On some feature race days, admission may be charged.  Please check with the track.
 
Can children attend the races?

Yes!  All Ontario tracks are family friendly.  Many tracks offer children’s activities and special family events.  Please note, you must be 19 years of age or older to enter the OLG Slots area and you must be over the age of 18 to place a wager.
 
Are pets allowed at the racetrack?
Dogs and pets are not allowed at the racetrack with exception of certified service animals.
 
What type of horse racing will I see?

In Ontario there are 3 types of horse races – Thoroughbred, Standardbred and Quarter Horse racing.

Ajax Downs is the only track to host Quarter Horse racing.

Thoroughbred racing is held at Fort Erie Race Track and Woodbine Racetrack.

All other tracks in the province host Standardbred (Harness) racing, this includes Woodbine which hosts both Standardbred and Thoroughbred racing.

What time do the races start?

Post time varies at each racetrack.  Please visit the “Racing Calendar” section of the website for each track’s race dates and post times.

How many races are there?

Most tracks feature an average of 10 races on a card per race date.

Where do I purchase a racing program?
You can purchase a race program at each track and at any off-track location.  Many Ontario racetracks offer free programs on their websites that you can download.
How much does it cost for a racing program?

Generally a racing program costs $2.50-3.00.  This may vary due to race event and type of race program.
 
What types of food and beverage are available?

 All Ontario tracks feature snack bars or food and beverage areas.  Most tracks have a casual dining or a full service restaurant that overlooks the racetrack.  Please check with the track as not all restaurants are open every day of racing.  Reservations are recommended.
Is the racetrack licensed to serve alcoholic beverages?
Yes, all Ontario racetracks are licensed.  You must be 19 years of age to be served alcoholic beverages.
Can you visit and touch the race horses?

All Ontario racetracks have an outside tarmac area where you can get up close and watch all the horse racing action.  For security and safety reasons the race track has a fence around its perimeter, touching the horses is not permitted.  The race paddock (area where the horses are prepared prior to racing) is a restricted area.  Many racetracks offer paddock tours.  Please contact the racetrack you wish to visit for information regarding race paddock tours.
 
Can I take photographs at the track?
Yes – visitors are welcome to take photographs and use camcorders in the general public racetrack areas.  Please refrain from using a flash near the horses.  Taking pictures of customers is not permitted.

At the Track

What to know about horse racing before visiting a track!

What are the differences between jockeys and drivers?

Jockeys ride thoroughbred horses on a saddle, while drivers sit in a sulky behind the standardbred horse. Unlike jockeys, harness drivers have no restrictions placed on them in terms of their weight. However, most successful drivers maintain their weight and stay in good physical shape. It takes a good deal of strength to guide a horse whether it be in the saddle or in the sulky.  Jockeys are of small stature and must maintain a certain weight.

Horses racing have weight limits assigned to them by the racing officials and the jockeys and their equipment must meet these limits. For example, the Kentucky Derby’s weight limit is 126 pounds (121 for fillies) so the jockey and his/her equipment (saddle, crop, helmet, boots, etc.) must not exceed that.
 
Harness racing drivers select the colours for the uniform they wear when they compete. Drivers must register their choice of colours with the proper authorities and their ‘colours’ are printed in the race program. Usually the driver’s name and/or initials appear somewhere on their colours.
 
Some families maintain a certain colour hue but with slight variations in pattern. Examples of this are the Waples family (usually blues and yellows/gold), Gregg and Doug McNair (maroon, black and white), Herve, Sylvain and Yves Filion (blue, white, red), etc.
 
Jockeys do not select their own colours. Usually referred to as ‘silks’, their uniform reflects either the owner or stable of the horse they are riding. The owners register their colours and patterns with the relevant registries.

Are all horse races run in a counter clockwise direction?


The majority of horse races in North America are conducted in a counter clockwise direction (left hand turns).  However, this is not the case in the rest of the world where both clockwise and counter clockwise races are presented.  There are also races run without turns, on straightaways, and over courses with hills.
 
The National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in New York reports that racing in the US was run clockwise, like in England, until the American Revolution when that custom was changed to counter clockwise. In Ontario, Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto ran several clockwise races in 2016 in a move to garner additional attention for the sport. However, counter-clockwise racing remains the norm in Ontario.

How many types of horse racing are available to watch in ontario?
Quarter Horse racing is featured at Ajax Downs in Ajax, Ontario.
Thoroughbred racing takes place at Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto and Fort Erie Racetrack in Fort Erie.
Standardbred (sometimes known as harness) racing may be enjoyed at a number of tracks throughout the province as follows:
  • Clinton, Ontario - Clinton Raceway
  • Dresden, Ontario - Dresden Raceway
  • Dundas, Ontario – Flamboro Downs
  • Elora, Ontario - Grand River Raceway
  • Hanover, Ontario - Hanover Raceway
  • Innisfil, Ontario – Georgian Downs
  • Leamington, Ontario - Leamington Raceway
  • London, Ontario – The Raceway At Western Fair District
  • Milton, Ontario – Mohawk Racetrack
  • Ottawa, Ontario - Rideau Carleton Raceway
  • Peterborough, Ontario – Kawartha Downs
  • Sarnia, Ontario - Hiawatha Horse Park
  • Toronto, Ontario – Woodbine Racetrack
Are all racetracks the same size?

No. For example,  Woodbine Racetrack in Toronto has three different size tracks. The Standardbreds use a seven-eighths mile surface while the Thoroughbreds are raced on a one mile Tapeta (synthetic surface) or one and a half-mile Turf (grass) Course. Fort Erie Race Track has a one-mile main track and a seven-furlong turf course that is made of dirt.  Ajax Downs’ is a quarter-mile surface.

Half-mile tracks in the province are located at Clinton Raceway, Dresden Raceway, Flamboro Downs, Grand River Raceway, Hanover Raceway, Leamington Raceway and The Raceway at Western Fair District.

Georgian Downs, Kawartha Downs, Rideau Carleton and Hiawatha Horse Park are all five-eighths mile tracks.

Mohawk Racetrack is the only other seven-eighths mile oval, other than Woodbine, in the province.

Which tracks are the fastest?
Horses race fastest on a straightaway which is one of the reasons why Quarter Horse racing is so swift as the majority of their races do not have turns. The more turns the horses have to negotiate, the slower the race. Half-mile tracks require the horses to race through four turns making it the slowest of the tracks. The advantage to a half-mile track however, is that because of its configuration, it allows fans a better view of the entire race.
How do I know what horses are racing?

All racetracks provide a program which lists each race and the horses competing in them and their past performance history. Many tracks will provide these free of charge on their websites in PDF format to print off at home prior to visiting the track. Otherwise they are available for purchase at the tracks for a nominal fee.

What is the difference between the three types of racing?

In Quarter Horse racing and Thoroughbred racing the horses are ridden by a jockey (sometimes called a rider). In harness racing the horses are steered by a driver who sits behind the horse in a special bike called a sulky.

Quarter Horse racing is done in sprints and the name of the breed comes from the Quarter Horse's ability to cover a quarter mile distance very quickly. They are the fastest of all racehorses for a short period and are sometimes referred to as the dragsters of horse racing. Thoroughbred racing is measured in furlongs that are an eighth of a mile. The most common race distances range from six to nine furlongs.

Standardbred Horse racing primarily is conducted over a one-mile course. Some tracks will stage sprint racing (a quarter or half mile) or longer distances (a mile and a half) to show a different perspective to fans. Standardbred horses race in two gaits, pacing (where the legs on the same side of the body move together and is the more dominant gait) and trotting (where the opposite legs – right front and left rear and left front and right rear – move together).
 
Another type of Standardbred racing introduced in recent years in Ontario is called Racing Under Saddle, also known as RUS. These are races in which trotters are ridden in races rather than driven. In April of 2014 the Ontario Racing Commission approved rules which allow RUS races to be featured as pari-mutuel betting events rather than demonstrations. A full story explaining the history of RUS racing in Ontario may be found here.

Which is faster in harness racing? A pacer or a trotter?

Pacers have always been a few seconds faster than their trotting counterparts, largely due to the sureness of their gait. The fastest trotter of all time in North America is the European bred Sebastian K who toured over Pocono Downs’ five-eighths mile track in 1:49 in June of 2014.

The record for the fastest pacing mile of all time is held by Always B Miki. He paced in 1:46 at The Red Mile in October of 2016.
 

What is the difference between the horses themselves?
Quarter Horses are related closely to Thoroughbreds but tend to be a fairly blocky, sturdy and more muscular horse while a Thoroughbred is more refined. Quarter Horses quite often are used in rodeos and in Western events. A Standardbred horse falls in between the two. They are not as refined as Thoroughbreds but not as blocky as a quarter horse.
 
In terms of colours, Standardbreds and Thoroughbreds are primarily bay (light brown), brown, black, chestnut (various shades of red), grey (also called roan).
 
Quarter Horses have 17 recognized colours which include some of the ones noted above and several others. They may all be viewed on this chart provided by the American Quarter Horse Association.
 
 
Why do the horses in a race have different colours on their numbers?
The colours of the saddle pads or towels the horses wear with their race number on it is to help fans spot the horse they’re cheering for in a race.
 
The traditional colours are:
 
THOROUGHBRED/QUARTER HORSE
Post # Colour
  1. Red
  2. White
  3. Blue
  4. Yellow
  5. Green
  6. Black
  7. Orange
  8. Pink
  9. Turquoise
  10. Purple
  11. Gray
  12. Lime
  13. Brown
  14. Maroon
  15. Khaki
  16. Copen Blue
  17. Navy
  18. Forest Green
  19. Moonstone
  20. Fuchsia
 
STANDARDBRED
Post #     Colour
  1. Red
  2. Blue
  3. White
  4. Green
  5. Black
  6. Yellow
  7. Pink
  8. Grey
  9. Purple
  10. Blue/Red
  11. Light Blue
  12. Red/White
What happens to the horses after they have finished their racing careers?
Many racehorses enjoy very productive careers once they have been retired from racing. Many go on to produce the next generation of potential racehorses. Female horses may become broodmares and produce baby horses called foals in the winter. A horse’s gestation period is approximately 11 months. The very best male competitors in terms of racing ability or pedigree are in demand as stallions, also called sires.
 
A number of horses, primarily Standardbreds, are used by the Amish and/or Mennonites and in some cases provide their only method of transportation. Many others are used as riding horses in a variety of disciplines – hunter/ jumper, eventing, dressage, barrel racing, pleasure driving. Retired horses are also selected for programs like therapeutic horseback riding, designed to assist people of all ages with disabilities.
 
Are there adoption opportunities available for horses similar to other animals?
There are numerous associations devoted to finding forever homes for horses of all three breeds. Some provide training prior to adoption so that the horse is rider ready once they are re-homed. For more information, see Industry Links and learn more about our Post Racing Incentive Program.